Writer on the road

Indie music, country music and the road! There are very few combinations such as this. It’s a symphony for the mind, and a pleasure to the senses. What’s going through my mind now? A southern stretch, a cigarette and my thoughts! Too typical you say? But well, the mind has sprung up such imagery, and it’s pleasing! So, I’m going to stick with it.  Maybe I should write something about the Writer on the road. And some Indie music should help! So, Alexi Murdoch comes on the Last Fm radio, as I write this. Was earlier listening to Full Grown Man by Phosphorescent before. Anyways, the idea of a Writer on the road sounds inviting. Maybe I should keep it in stanzas, or actually pen down a story of one of the places. Or, rather write his story. Like a song. Hmm…let me attempt this!

Writer on the road

Seeking inspiration from life, I left on a trip to explore

A life where the lifeless talk, drawing me near its shore

Figuring the meaning, sorrows and joys, and celebrations around

Lost in their oblivion, I am the writer, who gives their stories a bound

I am the writer on the road

The messenger from across, seeking a new abode

I visit the valleys, the villages and the wilderness that’s dying

People live lives that make the book, no crying, no prying

It’s here that private smiles are meant to be shared

Happiness is a disease, and no sad soul is spared

I am the writer on the road

The messenger from across, seeking a new abode

7 months away, I always found a home

But none that could keep me for long, none I could call my own

What I seek is not what I get, what I seek is the constant of change

And my life will move, just like the road, sometimes familiar, sometimes strange

I am the writer on the road

But right now, I’m in hibernation mode

Happy Helpers – The songs that kept me company

Full Grown Man by Phosphorescent

Blue Mind by Alexi Murdoch

Backstage with the Modern Dancers by Great Lake Swimmers

Broken Arrows by Jose Gonzalez

Leave a Reply

